Guides

How to Read a Solar Inverter Datasheet: Huawei SUN2000

Huawei Team7 min read
Huawei SUN2000-L1 inverter, whose datasheet rows are read line by line in this guide

A solar inverter datasheet read row by row on three Huawei SUN2000 models: DC input, AC output, battery window, backup and enclosure, and what each row decides.

An inverter datasheet answers four questions in a fixed order: what can come in from the panels, what goes out to the house, what battery it accepts, and where it can be installed. Once you know which row answers which question, a two-page table takes a minute to read. This guide walks through the rows on three Huawei records — the single-phase SUN2000-5KTL-L1, the three-phase SUN2000-10KTL-M1 and the three-phase hybrid SUN2000-10K-MAP0 — with the figures exactly as their records state them.

Products mentioned in this article

Block 1: DC input — what the panels may deliver

RowSUN2000-5KTL-L1SUN2000-10KTL-M1SUN2000-10K-MAP0
Max DC voltage600 V1,100 V1,100 V
Operating / MPPT voltage range90–560 V140–980 V160–1,000 V
Startup voltage100 V200 V160 V
Max input current per MPPT12.5 A13.5 A16 A
MPPTs / strings per MPPT2 / 12 / 12 / 1
Recommended max PV powernot stated15,000 Wp18,000 Wp

Max DC voltage is a limit you must never reach. Add up the open-circuit voltage of the panels in one string, at the coldest morning of the year, and stay under it: a 600 V inverter takes a shorter string than an 1,100 V one. The MPPT range is where the inverter harvests; a string whose working voltage falls below it produces nothing. Startup voltage is what the string must reach before the inverter wakes. Current per MPPT has to be at least the working current of the panel you connect — the reason the 16 A input of the MAP0 matters with large-format modules. Recommended max PV power tells you how far the array may exceed the AC rating: 15,000 Wp on a 10,000 W M1, 18,000 Wp on a 10,000 W MAP0.

Where a row reads "not stated" above, the record does not carry it, and nothing should be assumed in its place.

Block 2: AC output — what reaches the house

  • Rated AC power: 5,000 W, 10,000 W and 10,000 W. This must cover your peak load; the sizing calculator works that peak out from your appliances.
  • Max apparent power: 11,000 VA on both 10 kW units.
  • Grid connection: single-phase for the L1, three-phase for the M1 and MAP0. It has to match the supply at your meter.
  • Nominal AC voltage: 220/230/240 V on the L1; 220/380 and 230/400 V on the M1; the MAP0 adds 240/415 V.
  • Efficiency: two figures. The L1 states 98.4% maximum and 97.8% European; the two 10 kW units state 98.6% and 98.1%. The European figure, a weighted average over partial loads, is the one closer to a real day.

Block 3: Battery (DC) — what storage it accepts

All three records list the same compatible batteries: LUNA2000-5/10/15-S0 and LUNA2000-7/14/21-S1. The row to match is operating voltage: 350–560 V on the single-phase L1, 600–980 V on the three-phase M1 and MAP0. Open the LUNA2000-S0 datasheet and you find the mirror of it: 350–560 V on a single phase, 600–980 V on three phases. When the two windows agree, the pair works; that is the check the LUNA2000 S0 vs S1 comparison lays out side by side.

The power rows differ by model. The L1 states a maximum charge power of 5,000 W, the M1 a maximum discharge power of 10.0 kW and the MAP0 a maximum charging power of 11,000 W.

Block 4: Backup — only on a hybrid

The MAP0 record has a block the two string inverters lack. Its backup device is the SmartGuard-63A-T0; overload is 110% continuous, 150% for 5 minutes and 200% for 10 seconds; switchover time is 20 ms or less. If a datasheet has no such block, the inverter does not power the house during a grid cut on its own. To see the hybrid range against the string range, use the L1 vs M1 comparison and the hybrid inverters page.

Block 5: General data — where it can hang

RowSUN2000-5KTL-L1SUN2000-10KTL-M1SUN2000-10K-MAP0
Dimensions (W × H × D)365 × 375 × 156 mm525 × 470 × 146.5 mm490 × 460 × 130 mm
Weight12.0 kg17 kg21 kg
Protection degreeIP65IP65IP66
Operating temperature-25 °C to +60 °C-25 °C to +60 °C-25 °C to +60 °C
CoolingNatural convectionNatural convectionNatural convection

Weight and dimensions decide the wall and the fixings. The protection degree says whether the unit may sit outdoors. Natural convection means no fan, so the space above and below the unit has to stay clear.

When two lines of a record disagree

It happens, and the honest reading is to keep both. The LUNA2000-5-S0 record states IP66 in its protection-degree row and IP65 in its description line. We publish both as written; if the figure decides where your battery goes, plan for the lower one.

Reading a family page

Our datasheet pages are organised by family, one page for every member: the SUN2000-L1 datasheet covers seven models from 2 kW to 6 kW, the SUN2000-M1 datasheet six models from 3 kW to 10 kW, and the SUN2000-MAP0 datasheet five from 5 kW to 12 kW. Most rows are shared, and the rows that change — rated power, efficiency, recommended PV power — are printed per model. Each page also links the PDF and every member's product page, where the price shown is the price you pay and orders are collected from our store in Dubai or Riyadh.

A datasheet tells you what a unit can do; it does not tell you what you need. For that, start from your own loads in the calculator or from a ready-made system, then come back to the rows above to confirm the fit.

Frequently Asked Questions

What should I look at first on a solar inverter datasheet?

Three rows settle most choices: rated AC power, which must cover your peak load; grid connection, single-phase or three-phase, which must match your supply; and maximum DC voltage, which caps how many panels go in one string. On the SUN2000-5KTL-L1 those rows read 5,000 W, single-phase and 600 V.

What is the difference between maximum and European efficiency?

Maximum efficiency is the best point the inverter reaches; European efficiency is a weighted average across partial loads, so it is the lower figure. The SUN2000-5KTL-L1 record states 98.4% maximum and 97.8% European; the SUN2000-10KTL-M1 states 98.6% and 98.1%.

Where does a SUN2000 datasheet say which battery fits?

In the Battery (DC) block. The SUN2000-L1, M1 and MAP0 records list LUNA2000-5/10/15-S0 and LUNA2000-7/14/21-S1 as compatible, with an operating voltage of 350–560 V on the single-phase L1 and 600–980 V on the three-phase M1 and MAP0.

Is one datasheet page valid for every model in the series?

A family datasheet covers every member and prints the rows that differ per model. The SUN2000-L1 page covers seven models from 2 kW to 6 kW; maximum efficiency, for instance, is 98.3% on the 3 kW unit and 98.4% on the 5 kW and 6 kW units, so read the column of the model you are ordering.
  • #solar inverter datasheet
  • #sun2000 datasheet
  • #huawei solar inverter datasheet
  • #luna2000 datasheet
  • #MPPT voltage range
  • #inverter specifications
Share:

Ready to order?

Every unit in the catalogue carries its price — add it to the cart and order online, then collect it from our store in Dubai or Riyadh.